TALE 8

Give Us Your Best BS!

From A Wiki in the Desert
Jump to: navigation, search
English français

King Osorkon, King Tutimaos, and Viceroy Kashti were having a meeting of the minds. Not that their conversations were particularly coherent or their minds sharp due to the amount of wine flowing into their cups. New vines of especially good quality were released in the Kush faction not many days ago. Vineyards were dotting the southern hills and valleys. Careful and loving tending of the grape producing plants had given the first batches of ripe fruit which were picked, smashed and barreled. Of course, there had to be a gathering to do the first tastings! Viceroy Kashti was taking full bragging rights on this achievement of his people, lifting his glass in a salute to his kingdom.

"To the fertile ground of Kush territories!" Kashti slurred in a tribute to himself and his people.

The other rulers were not caring if it was bragging. They were enjoying the purple, pink, and any other color of the spirit that was offered. Chugging commenced and the usual camaraderie that inebriation created put everyone in a jovial mood.

"To the Ma! The best blacksmiths in the land anywhere!" Osorkon crowed.

Well, that did it. The other two rulers and their accompanying elders and their families argued and dared each other.

So, hear ye, hear ye, peoples of Egypt, here are the rules for this next test of blacksmithing skill (with a twist):

  • At the appointed time, stand at your respective anvils with your tools laid out to use. Have at least 20 metal. (See note below)
  • Any metal may be used.
  • Listen to ENN and you will receive the challenge for a certain tool (hatchet, shovel, or resin wedge) and the time limit.
  • Do NOT remove the tool you believe to qualify for a win from your anvil!
  • Send a message to ENN with only your 4 digit quality and the number of blows done. Only your first messaged valid entry will count. A valid entry is an entry that complies with the stated goal.

NOTE: Since a hatchet takes the most metal of 20 you can use "Discard Project for Scrap" and use the same metal the entire contest if you want. You only need one tool to bang on the metal but more tools that make finer adustments to quality will be of help. The rulers swear that a goodly amount of alcohol in your system will up your chances of winning! <----- Old wives tale or otherwise known as some really good BS.

Length of contest is approximately one hour.

This is for EVERYBODY! If you never waved a hammer around you still have a chance!

See the entire log for all four events at http://services.atitd.org/log.php and change Game: to ATITD8A and dates from 4-7-2018 to 4-8-2018.

Mebala: 90% of blacksmithing is using a shaping mallet.
amonnakht: The chisel is for border definition.

Times:
Saturday, 4-7-2018 Noon PDT/3PM EDT/8PM GMT
Saturday, 4-7-2018 4PM PDT/7PM EDT/Midnight GMT
Sunday, 4-8-2018 7AM PDT/10AM EDT/3PM GMT
Sunday, 4-8-2018 Noon PDT/3PM EDT/8PM GMT

Prizes per contest time:

First Challenge
1st Place through 3rd Place receive one 9k+ Shovel
4th Place through 9th place receive 150 Nails and 12 Empty Wine Bottles

Second Challenge
1st Place through 3rd Place receive one 9k+ Hatchet
4th Place through 9th place receive 150 Nails and 12 Empty Wine Bottles

Third Challenge
1st Place through 3rd Place receive one 9k+ Resin Wedge
4th Place through 9th place receive 150 Nails and 12 Empty Wine Bottles

This contest is sponsored by the Meshwesh Ironworks!